Best albums of 2015

As you know this blog mainly revolves around films I watch, but music plays an extremely important part in my life too. Here are the albums that made the biggest impression on me this year:

  1. Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp A Butterfly
  2. Joanna Newsom – Divers
  3. Tame Impala – Currents
  4. FKA twigs – M3LL155X
  5. Bjork – Vulnicura
  6. Sufjan Stevens – Carrie & Lowell
  7. Julia Holter – Have You In My Wilderness
  8. Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear
  9. Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit
  10. Jenny Hval – Apocalypse, girl
  11. Ibeyi – Ibeyi
  12. Beach House – Depression Cherry
  13. Beirut – No No No
  14. Torres – Sprinter
  15. Panda Bear – Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper
  16. Deerhunter – Fading Frontier
  17. Holly Herndon – Movement
  18. Chelsea Wolfe – Abyss
  19. Kelela – Hallucinogen EP
  20. Lianne La Havas – Blood
  21. Natalie Prass – Natalie Prass
  22. Jessica Pratt – On Your Own Love Again
  23. Kurt Vile – B’lieve I’m Going Down…
  24. The Tallest Man on Earth – Dark Bird Is Home
  25. Waxahatchee – Ivy Tripp
  26. Sleater Kinney – No Cities To Love
  27. CHVRCHES – Every Open Eye
  28. Grimes – Art Angels
  29. Lower Dens – Escape from Evil
  30. Jamie xx – In Colour

Seen live in 2015:

Patti Smith, Caribou, Lamb, José González, Dan Deacon, Mark Lanegan, Thurston Moore Band, Repetitor, Metronomy, Róisín Murphy, Zola Jesus, Run the Jewels, Kelela, Viet Cong, Nikki Louder, Vlasta Popić, Ti, Bonobo, Pet Shop Boys, We can’t sleep at night, Your Gay Thoughts, Archive, Polona Kasal x KALU, Napravi mi dete, Artan Lili, Lovely Quinces.

9 thoughts on “Best albums of 2015”

  1. Oh man.. that list deserves some sort of award – it’s flawless. I mean, you even got Kelela, Jenny Hval and Holly Herndon in there too; all of them criminally underrated imho.

      1. Thank you, James! And thank you for the recommendation. 🙂 I already have the album somewhere in my music library, but I haven’t had the time to listen to it yet.
        And it wasn’t until this year that I discovered Jenny Hval – what a revelation! She’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

